Home

Its good to be back home after 4 weeks away.  Only problem is that the fridge/freezer packed up while we were away and there was a revolting smell in the kitchen.  The said appliance was full of rotting food and is now in the garden awaiting removal :-(  

The lawn was like a wildflower meadow until I mowed it but I am really pleased with my vegetable beds.

We used to be able to grow veg but the last 2 years have been a disaster with nothing growing.  I blamed it on slugs and spent a fortune on nematode slug control to no avail.

I also wondered if it was pigeons so this year I fitted some bird netting before we went away and I am delighted that we have come back to a healthy vegetable patch.   

Here you can see lettuce,  swiss chard and strawberries (and a few weeds that I will deal with tomorrow!).  We also have a healthy crop of Pak Choi and mange-tout peas coming along.

The one failure (yet again) is runner beans.  I sowed two rows and not one is growing.  I think that this proves that the pigeons were to blame all along as the beans were the only crop not protected by netting.

I really don't know why the pigeons have become such a problem in the past two years where they didn't trouble us previously.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.