Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Veteran Day

Once more Veteran Day in Den Haag and the weather was fair again.
Old and young veterans paraded thro' town and saluted king William who stood along the route. Here are the veterans who served as DUTCHBAT peacekeepers in the Bosnia / Yugoslavia 20 years ago ~ suppose this is Dutchbat III who's overruled by Mladic's militia and could not protect the people against his plans of executions in the surrounding fields.
Not easy to choose a picture from the many I took today

in former years I could mix with the veterans before lining up for the parade (now that passage was closed off) the UNIFIL veterans + Dutchbatters then impressed me as they're like a Band of Brothers (many suffer PTSD) altho' I don't know anyone personal, both are a special group to me what helped my choice for today's blip

* your stars belong to these heroes today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.