Sisters

This tugs on my heartstrings so much.

One of the reasons we have come down to Devon is to allow my Mom to see her sister.  They have not met for a few years now as the journey has been a bit too difficult for my parents.  My auntie has been in a home for nearly two years now because her dementia had reached the point where she was no longer safe in her home.  She still talks about wanting to go home and tells everyone how much she hates the nursing home she is in.  

I don't think she really knew who Mom was - her elder sister in reality, but she seemed to think she knew her.  At one stage she thought Mom was her mother.  They both cried when they first met and then Mom seemed to realise that here was someone, her little sister, who needed love and care and someone to show her strength.  Of course, this didn't last once she left the home and we were back to the questioning, frightened, depressed, obsessive person that has become my Mother.

One of the key messages of the Dementia Friends Programme is that it is possible to live well with dementia.  I haven't seen very much evidence of that today.

My Mom might not see her sister again.

That tugs on my heartstrings so much...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.