Been waiting a long time

for that bus to arrive!

We had plans to go to Chirk Castle.  The motorway confounded us initially, so we changed plans and went to Dunham Massey.

At Dunham Massey, we observed a cat in a tree, taunting a deer (additional pic attached).  Then I had what can only be classed as a 'funny turn' - close to passing out.  Humidity didn't help.  A cream tea and about a litre of tea helped.

Then, we made a break for Chirk Castle - only an hour away.

Medieval castle heaven.  Men in chain mail, wielding a variety of weapons.  Corin was very interested in some axes, arrows and other scary things.  I got put in the stocks.  One of the medieval chaps got wind of the fact that I fancied a pair of stocks for in my classroom - he confessed that he was a teaching assistant and understood completely!!!

Fabulous castle.  Corin provided entertainment for at least one of the volunteers with his commentary on decoration and woodworm.  I found a suit of armour and pondered on how on earth you were supposed to walk in those pointy shoes (see additional pic!)

Then, gorgeous gardens.

Honestly, one of the loveliest days out I have had in ages.  Thank you Corin xxx

(And stopped me from worrying about the arrival of a letter from my GP this morning asking me to make an appointment to discuss my blood tests - the blood was only drawn on Wednesday ...I find it difficult to believe that they have been turned around in 2 days....based upon my experiences over the past few years. Also, my GP had already made a follow up appointment with me...I am confused but at least it has stopped me worrying about work stuff that I also have no control over!!!!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.