Party #3

Major fail - well not really...but annoyingly last year for Sam's birthday party we hired a bouncy castle and it rained, this year we organised a cinema trip and we've had the warmest Saturday for weeks.

Looking back 2 years at my record of the after party experience James had made me smile & I'm so glad Ben had a much better experience this year.  He didn't sleep at all, but that was apparently fine and very many thanks to Toby's parents who were organised and prepared to let them party and camp in the fields all night, they even organised a portaloo.

Tossed into the busy mix and worrying me for the last few days has been the discussions about the desirability and/or necessity of getting Ben back early from his Windband Trip in Barcelona to go on the Cambodia trip .  At a meeting on Thursday the itinerary confirmed that the school plan is to leave Barcelona and travel by by coach/ferry 1.00pm Saturday and arrive in Linton at 4.30pm Sunday!  

Ben leaves for Cambodia 5.00am Monday....I expect, tired/ ready to wind-down and not wind-up, which in my opinion is not an ideal state of mind to be embarking on the most adventurous and exciting (and expensive) trip ever.  Soooo, I discovered that there was a flight leaving early Saturday morning (for £35)...which meant he could be back earlier and not miss anything - only the travelling....

I won't bore you with the details but it was not at all a straightforward (no-brainer) as I'd initially assumed.  And, things are clearer now.

So Sam's birthday party...at last a teenager...

Cinema and Harvester were fine but the heat and the  long time in the car dropping off party-attendees in surrounding villages, resulted in Sam being sick en route to the BBQ at Wandlebury that we went straight on to later.  I tried my best to clean it up.  I loved the poem that Bev read about her time living there (extra photo) but had to leave early to pick up James and x3 work colleagues.  We opened the windows and hoped no one would notice the smell - if they did they didn't say.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.