Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Chania Day 2

A splendid start to the day went a bit pear-shaped later on.

We stumbled on yet another new-to-us part of town, up behind the harbour, and spent a wonderful time exploring and nudging one another at how fabulous this place is. Brunch was great, the wander through a maze of narrow streets was terrific, and all was well with the world until we made our way to keep an appointment we'd made yesterday to go for a trip on motorised tricycles. After a very short explanation of how the machine worked and a couple of minutes trying it out, we set off on what should have been an hour's tour of Chania.

Unfortunately, I had a bit of an incident at the very first corner. The trike didn't fancy going in the direction I wanted it to, we parted company, and I fell rather heavily onto the street. The girl who was to lead the tour wanted me to get back up on the trike and continue, but I was really sore, I'd lost my confidence, and I refused to continue. Carl went ahead, I had a beer to steady my nerves and made my way back to our hotel for a bit of a break before meeting him when the tour finished.

As time went on, I had to give in to the pain on my wrist (my ribs were sore too, but not as much of a problem). We asked at reception for advice about getting a doctor to check me out, and the girl insisted on coming with us to a nearby clinic and waiting until I'd been checked in and she was happy that language differences weren't going to cause any difficulty. X-Rays of wrist and ribs showed that I'd been lucky and that nothing was broken, but the doc insisted on putting a half-cast on my wrist to immobilise it for ten days or so. Also, I'm to dose myself with cough syrup at the first sign of a cold, to guard against the possibility of pleurisy setting in because of the painful ribs preventing full clearing of the lungs. Sounds fun, doesn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.