Almost as Big as Mom

About the photo. It is a frame from a video I took early this evening after we got home from our trip to Seattle. The baby hummingbird is growing so fast I want to see him as often as possible. So I went just before we left on Friday and just after we got home today. I got some really sweet moments of the baby working on his wing strength. It won't be long before he'll be off and about under his own power. That will probably be the end of my chances to take videos of the two of them.

We had a great visit to Seattle. We stayed with our friends Chris and Jyl and as always loved being with them. We've known them for many years. Chris calls me his "ersatz sister" and I think of him as one of my brothers as well. He could be as he fits neatly between Steve and Dave in age. Jyl is his wonderful wife and is full of life and humor. They are the best! We got to their house yesterday before they got home so we walked along Green Lake and had lunch. We spent the evening with Chris as Jyl had another commitment.

Today we spent the morning playing Big Boggle and meeting an artist friend of Chris and Jyl's. He and Chris played guitar together and Jyl chimed in with a song or two. She and Chris regularly perform sweet jazz at clubs in the Seattle area. He's a doctor by day and she is a writer. Chris joined us in our trip to the Olympus Apartments to pick up my paintings. We met Carol who set up the show and took down the paintings. One of them went home with Carol as she bought one. So I took home a check along with the paintings. So delightful I must say.

The drive home was easy. We got home around five. After Arvin fed the kitties and I cleaned up their boxes and gave them some love, I headed up to the park to see my hummers. There was plenty of light and somebody had moved or removed the leaf. It wasn't me. And I never would have done it. But what a difference it made to taking a video. When the video is finished uploading on Vimeo, I'll add a link to this journal entry. Stay tuned. Here it is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.