Last Stop

...On our Grand Tour and we called in on the Boston Museum of Fine Art.

First of all I've got to get this out there, anyone who we have spoken to in Boston since we arrived and hasn't insisted, no, pleaded with us to go to this gallery, you make me doubt the goodness of humankind. How could anyone not think a jewel in Boston's crown?

A most excellent guided tour taking the theme of spaces was our introduction. Then so much that I would have liked to have seen and... So little time.
I chose to dwell in the Hokusai exhibition, which was awesomeness. His work startled, enchanted, dazzled, seduced, intruiged.. I learnt earlier that Monet had over 200 pieces of Hokusais work, and I began to see the influence of his work on impressionism more clearly. He was the dude....like...totally.
Talking of Monet, his playful portrait of his wife Camille is the backdrop to today's blip. The painting has recently returned from loan to galleries in Japan, a Japanese TV network commissioned the reproduction of the kimono in the picture and we were invited to try it on after an engaging talk about the picture.  I'm sure that my blip friends would have preferred a picture of me in it, but this was the next best option. Junno pushed forward by her brothers did elegant every bit as well as Camille and was happy for me to catch a shot and was keen that I email her the photo. (well she shrieked when I showed her the viewfinder and gave me her email)
So now time to have some dinner before the red eye flight across to the Blighty.

USA&Canada, farewell, from beginning to end  I've been charmed.

Extra, the full kimono which was quite spectacular

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.