Pride of Madeira

Had to go down to see our receptionist this morning, but I'm afraid that's it for the day - I'm staying home! 

Today's Blip was an easy one - I have this Echium candicans in a pot just outside the glasshouse. I have previously grown it outside on a well-drained bank where it grew to a metre or more high and a lot wider, and eventually had 175 flower spikes, but then it died - they're not long-lived. I've tried again but so far with no success, so will grow this on for another year and then plant it out. Unlike the tall towering echiums, which are monocarpic, this is a true shrub and is native to the high central ridge of Madeira.

Several authorities give this species as synonymous with Echium fastuosum, but that species not only looks different, it grows down at sea level and is less hardy. I've tried it outside and lost it every time. I'm quite sure that they're separate species, but what do I know!

My extra picture today is of two young red squirrels on the bird table this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.