Fast and Slow

Day two of the weekend workshop in Art Journaling. This technique, called Fast and Slow, involves doing a quick watercolor interpretation of the subject--PAINT, DO NOT DRAW--capturing the gesture and general shape. Then go back in with your pen and do a more detailed drawing, ignoring the wash, or at least not being compelled by it. 

What I need to work on is layout. I'm not pleased with the text on this one. I see that I should color in the title--that was obvious to me when I saw the photo--but I'm not sure how to integrate the rest of it to make a pleasing composition. It's a challenge to try to plan out the page while being spontaneous.  It's interesting that looking at the photo of this spread gave me ideas about it that I didn't get from the piece itself.

I do love taking art classes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.