wsjohnson

By wsjohnson

"really, that the best you got" -mono monday- line

Okay, so like, when told (actually I read it) that the theme for mono Monday (thank you to - our hostess - JDO) was/is "line" I laughed rather loudly, causing the "person I'm related to by marriage" to do that peculiarly English thing with her eyebrows, basically saying - sans words - "what is your problem???"

Anywhoo,  back in the days when the imbibing of alcohol and wearing of polyester (yeah once I actually wore polyester) took control and (kept a hold) of my libido from Friday night to Sunday morning, I repeated some of the following "lines" engineered for the art of the 'pick-up":

"your feet must be tired, cause you been running thru my mind all night"

'heaven must be missing an angel, 'cause you're gracing my sight"

"excuse me, but if you're not using your name right now, can I have it"

"are you an orphanage, cause mommie, I want you to have my kids"

As you can see, not exactly the greatest examples of Shakespearian speak known to man, but hey, I was young, dumb and stoopid. Then along came Mr. Luther Vandross (years after my days as a lothario were done) with this classic:

"Excuse me Miss, but what's your name, where are you from and can I come and possibly, can I take you out tonight? To a movie, to the park, I'll have you home before it's dark. So let me know, can I take you out tonight" - now THAT my friends is a "line"

In case the thought is crossing your mind - (and lord knows I have no clue why) - She responded to the following:

"If the Queen abdicates, would you 'stay calm and carry on'"

To which She replied; "I do beg your pardon, but was that some form of American humor? If so, I find it most un-amusing"

22 years later, I still find it odd I was not insulted

Ookkkaaayyy . . . . on that note

Earlier this morning, someone (moi) had a "semi-serious medical situation" and no, it wasn't the loss of his "sense of humor" requiring a visit to the emergency room at Marin General, the photos were taken in the lobby

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.