kwchas

By kwchas

Golden Plover

Today I went for a walk up Black Hill in the Peak District on a geocaching expedition. It is on the Pennine Way but I approached from the Holme Moss transmitter which is a round trip of around 3 miles but with hardly any climbing. It is across moorland and there is no path marked on the map but I had seen that it was plausible route and given the conditions I was confident that I would have no problems.

True to form there was actually a well-trodden path and with perfect visibility it was a pleasant stroll. Having said that I imagine that in winter after heavy rain and in misty weather it would be a complete nightmare. At the top I spoke to a man who had biked and hiked up and he said that it was very tricky to spot where the path went down in foggy conditions.

On the way up I spotted this bird which I only managed to identify in the bird book when I got home. Ideally I would have liked to get closer but it isn't everyday that I see a golden plover so I thought it was worthwhile using for today's blip 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.