River of Flowers

By doffy

A Trio of Peas

Gloriously warm all day. I dug over the deep bed where the onions had grown and got it to a fine tilth - I'm having a go at carrots (Autumn King & Amsterdam), parsnips (Hollow Crown), beetroot (Cylinda & Detroit), swede (Best of All) and marked the rows with radish (French Breakfast 3 & Cherry Belle) - after a thorough soaking I've covered the bed with net curtain which will stay there until the plants have grown strong. Lots of positive thinking going on here because I've had no success with any of these seeds in the past :-((((

Planted Purple Podded Peas in a large tub which was lined with the turf from the edge of the grass. Not many seeds because they did so badly last year.

Sent off the first draft of a poster for our village Summer Fair.

Today's blip is of the new peas I'm growing this year: Forage Pea (flowers same colour as Purple Podded), Crown Pea (looks like the flowers are in a big clump) and Lathyrus Sativus, which comes with grave warning https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lathyrism - I won't eat them!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.