If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Bumble Bee on Comfrey flower.

One of the things we were able to help Katkatkat with while we are up here is a bit of gardening.  She is looking after a colleagues allotment while they are away for a month.  We were able to give her more free time with us by driving her to the allotment and helping out with a few jobs while there.

I took a lot of shots of Comfrey flowers without bees but I did eventually manage to catch a few on the flowers.  Most were nothing special (neither is this one but I liked it).  I tentatively identify the bee as a worker Buff-tailed Bumblebee (Bombus terrestris).  It could be a worker of the White-tailed Bumblebee (Bombus Lucorum) but I am plumping for Buff-tailed as I feel the yellow band on the abdomen isn't bright enough.

If anyone can be more definite please do so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.