But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

You Wait Ages for One . . . . . . .

. . . . . . And then Three come Along Together.

We were just starting Merlin's walk when around the bend into the village came a vintage 1943 fire engine. We were just looking to see where it was going when a more recent model, the one with the grey cab) appeared. Thinking that a whole flotilla was arriving, I pulled out my compact and, as I was switching it on, a third came along. Another few seconds and I'd have been ready for it. Unfortunately, that was the last and I'd missed them all.

We waited long enough to establish that they were heading for the chapel, then continued with the walk. As soon as we returned I grabbed a real camera and headed down the road. Hidden discreetly at the back of the overflow car park I found them.

The 1943 model, on the left, is from the north east, Elgin, Fraserborough and finally Gordonstoun School (read what you like into that) and was restored late last year.
The 1960 grey one is from the Grampian region, as is the modern one in the middle (1986, judging from the number plate, if my counting is correct).

Judicious use of Google and Facebook reveals that they were on the way home from a rally in Stockton on Tees. Perhaps I should have hunted them out for a chat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.