Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Golf and a steam train

Many thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts on my Blip yesterday - they are all much appreciated even though I've not had a chance to reply or to comment on others today. Apologies.

Today I spent most of the day with a friend at Woburn Golf Club, where Final Qualifying for The Open was being held. We spent the morning following Colin Montgomerie, and the afternoon following Retief Goosen who was leading the board with 6 under par when we left. Woburn is a beautiful course to walk round and of course, it was a glorious day. Add to that the fact it was free, not at all crowded and not over-marshalled, and it was an excellent day. I even got a souvenir golf ball used by Mikael Lundberg in his first round for looking after his golf bag while he went to the loo!

But before all that, I went to see this steam engine go past on it's way north to Chester. It is No. 35028 'Clan Line', and not a common sight away from the Southern Region. This was its last run before going to Crewe for a major overhaul so it will be a long time before it is seen in steam again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.