In the shadows

After a blood test at the doctors , a visit to the Post Office to pay a bill and lunch bought from Cromarty Bakery I caught the bus to Rosemarkie.
It was cool and the sun was making an appearance. I walked through the church yard and nearly got mobbed by a few herring gulls that must have had young nearby.
The sun was now shining brightly and the temperature had risen. I walked along the waters edge tempted to take a paddle but did nt. The sun glistened on the surface. One boat bobbed up and down. Just one family were digging sandcastles on the beach and a group of workers in their high vis jackets were gathered together ready to start strimming and mowing , must be a Tuesday thing !
A few shells and one tiny jelly fish had been washed up and as I walked further there was plenty of seaweed attracting flies but this meant that the birds were taking advantage. Most are so camouflaged they were a job to see unless they moved. One ringed Plover surprised me , I had nt spotted it at all and it did nt notice me at the beginning. Several wagtails and gulls lined the water edge. One bird, in the extras, I can't id so any help would be grateful :)
Walking back along the top path was nt easy as the plants have grown soooo much. It does nt help being short as even the grass was taller than me lol but I made it through and  enjoyed looking at all the wildflowers. The bluebells have completely gone replaced with foxgloves and the wild roses of white, pink and dark pink looked wonderful. It was getting hotter and felt quite tropical . I had my picnic watching the sea , alone just the birds for company, not sure where everyone was.
I watched a buzzard fly up and was chased by the two ravens. The white throat in the photo sat on the branches singing as I walked by. I could hear and saw chiffchaffs and skylarks.
I was glad to get back to the house to cool down , the temperature rose to over 26 degrees , such a contrast to the last few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.