peterdawson

By peterdawson28

But I was here first!

Which was true in every sense. The Nile crocodile can trace its ancestry back to the age of the dinosaurs whilst the hippo is one of those new-fangled mammals. Also this particular croc had chosen a nice flat open sunbathing spot on the banks of the St Lucia Estuary without taking into account that a pod of hippos was likely to be returning there after a night out eating grass. One by one the hippos lumbered out of the water and began surrounding the hapless reptile but they pretty much ignored him as he was far too small to represent any threat to them.

This shot was taken the day before my cottage was broken into and my laptop and backup drives were stolen. The shots from this cruise with Shakabarker Tours survived because, uncharacteristically I didn't format my card overnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.