Emergency blip

Yes, it's our cute Western Finnish cattle heifer Lviira and well worth a blip just by herself. But this is also an emergency blip. Let me explain.

After doing some reorganizing in the barn (moving bales) I mowed and raked all the hay we are going to harvest as small bales. The weather forecast finally looks promising! After that my legs and back felt quite stiff, so I did some stretching before trying to catch a heifer for insemination.

This one was not very cooperative. So, when I managed to attach a rope to her collar, she rushed off at full speed which appeared to be faster than my full speed. And stubborn as I am, I didn't let go before it was too late, resulting in terrible strain in my left thigh. I took this when the other heifers came to look at me sitting on the ground. (No, it certainly wasn't Lviira I'm telling you about!)

With some more staff the heifer was finally caught, but all I could do was sit and watch. Afterwards I called the local first aid. They said that I should try painkillers first, and have the leg checked in the morning unless it gets totally intolerable before that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.