Robert Ostrochovsky

By youoregon1

Nomenclature

Very few Portlanders know about this secluded spot on Mt. Tabor. We see it daily on our walk, and it is funny that so few know what it is for. 
You see, when local Gnomes have given the best of their time, the paint is starting to thin, and getting a bit of craquelure around the edges, they are retired here. I think placing Gnomes in this architecture is a good fit.
I used the 24mm setting, and a lot of pine needles on my pants and shirt! Very thankful that JDO is hosting this edition of Wide Angle Wednesday - Architecture.

Tomorrow is the first of five Abstract Thursdays I will be hosting for July. Tag AT1.
The Philosophy: In this case, certainly we are artists, so from this starting point we should not attempt to represent external reality, but seek to achieve its effect using shapes, forms, colors and textures.
The Deed: Here is one link to many abstracts created with the camera. These look like they incorporate some slick techniques
Then I found easy abstracts made from the camera. Looks like a few took some liberties with the Philosophy, claiming ordinary scenes to be abstract. Well, this is the first week. 
The Mechanic: I would be very surprised if no one ever used a post processing program. I would also expect you to find reasons to use some of those features you said you would 'no way on earth' ever use. And of course certain Smart Phone apps might generate images you would never consider using. Hmmm. Ahhhh. But the camera itself is the best resource. Slow shutters, telescoping while shooting, multiple images. But I should stop so that you can tell us all how you got it!
The Cheat: Go to the museum or local graffiti wall and blip them. (You know, the wall might be fun.) I mention Kandinsky because we share the last three letters of our name. And the others. It would be cool if we do not use the cheat option, I include them here for inspirational purposes.

I jested in naming my last Thursday's blip, an abstract. But the response was unexpected. And it is a poor abstract made on poor time.
The Bottom Line: Have fun, you have five. High five.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.