Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It's all about the green dudes

I was all geared up to meet my nature group this morning, drove 20 miles, had the right lens and the right camera, the butterflies, dragons and other creepy crawlies were everywhere ...and then my battery died.  I cannot believe I left the house with a nearly dead battery and NO spare on me!  I managed to get about 30 shots before I got the silent treatment from the camera.  I tried to manage with my iPhone, but I have to tell you, phone doesn't compare to full frame!  So, I hopped in the car and made the 20 mile drive back home (on winding country roads complete with deer and one of the largest bears I've ever seen).  Changed the battery, hopped back in the car ... and then realized that by the time I got back to where the group was, the morning would be over.  Damn, damn, damn.  

I consoled myself by going to a nearby favorite spot where I saw a few goodies and enjoyed a nice walk.  Then home to see what was afoot in my own garden.  I spotted this little green four-lined leaf beetle on my bee balm so quickly grabbed a few shots before he scooted under the leaf, out of sight.  And it wasn't until I got the images on my computer that I saw the katydid nymph in the upper right corner, watching the leaf beetle!  It always makes me laugh when this happens - the bonus bug.  Making today's choice of a blip pretty easy.

I also found a new spider in my garden which I believe is a furrow orbweaver - a very tiny spider with a very large bum.  A tempting second choice for a blip, but edged out by the green dudes.   I posted it and five other shots on Flickr, click HERE to view.  And if you need a hummie-fix ('cause you know I do) have a look at today's Extra.

I've said before that photography is my therapy - it has gotten me through some very tough times and continues to be something that brings me great joy, as well as perspective on life's trials.  This is a difficult period for hubs and I with uncertainty about his job and continuing turmoil in our family.  Things will work out, they always do - but it certainly feels a bit overwhelming right now.  I am very glad that nature is providing me with a lot of diversions this summer.  

Happy Hump Day, people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.