Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

"...we go through the workout..."

This is where I go once a week to work out with my trainer, words I never imagined using when referring to myself. But last year Kendall told me about Sue's son Shawn who is a personal trainer. I'd been thinking I needed some core strengthening and some exercise in general in the hopes my mobility will, if not improve, at least not get worse. I started going to Shawn in March 2014; he's helped me so much. We've noticed a lot of improvement in my upper body strength, and I've built up a bit of muscle in my legs.

Our hour-long sessions go by so fast and it rarely feels like a torture session, which used to be true for me vs. exercise. Shawn's studio is at his residence, so there are no other bodies there to compare myself to (I always fall short). He and I talk constantly, lively discussions about the sad state of US politics, about our dogs and families, about music, science, technology, nature, travels, movies....  We laugh a lot. He's a very kind and compassionate man, he encourages me a hundred times an hour without a speck of judgement. I feel fortunate to have him as a part of my health team - and as a friend. . My extra photos include one of him, but Kendall blipped about him on Father's Day and her photo is better at capturing his spirit. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.