Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

i-eye Day 28:- Light Show

I know there will be some spectacular photos of last night's lightning today, I am looking forward to seeing them.

At 10 pm I was sitting in the garden with a glass of red watching a robin flit about. There was not a breath of wind and it was still about 24 degrees.

A hour or so later the lightning started; the wind came suddenly and the flashes were every couple of seconds, all different colours, lighting up just part of the sky in the west behind the clouds. I have never seen lightning like it. No thunder and no rain. Just a light show that lasted well over an hour. There were occasional forks ( see extra photo) but it the main it was like a cross between sheet and fork lightning, dancing between the clouds. What a privilege to see it. And to dangle out of various windows with my phone to try and capture a taste of it. I think the phone did well (no editing has been done). I was tempted a couple of times to get the DSLR out but I didn't want to miss any of the show.

Thanks for the comments and hearts for wet tea towel dog yesterday. She is lying here beside me on the bed blissfully unaware that the KENNELS beckon tomorrow. Many guilty treats will be given today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.