1/7/52/365

By nonsuchtony

Canary Wharf

Canary Wharf a capitalists dream or is it a nightmare. I've never done a Boat Cruise on the Thames, today two work colleagues and I were guests on one. We travelled on what once would have been a paddle ship.

It's interesting viewing the river bank along both sides of the Thames and looking at the every changing state of it. Building work, predominantly flats continues all along the south bank in particular. From Nine Elms to Greenwich, the distance covered by the cruise. In the main the developments look tired and without soul and character. Perhaps this is a metaphor for changing London.

I remember traveling onto the Isle of Dogs before the property boom took hold. It looks characterless now compared to what was there before.

Anyway the cruise was actually great, the food lovely and drink relatively free flowing, I passed on that as I'm driving later of course

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.