*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

183/365: If these boots could talk

I remember the first time we met. Her feet were by no means the nicest that tried me on but they were by far the giddiest. I knew she needed me for something exciting and important. If I could have talked I would have told her that she had nothing to worry about, that I'd never let her down.

She seemed very pleased with me and asked in the shop if she could pick me up later. I sat under the counter for the rest of the day praying she would come back for me. I'd seen all my friends leave the shop for exciting new lives and wanted the same.

She did come back and our adventures together began.

I remember our first proper walk together. High up on Kinder Scout where she learned how to properly read a map & use a compass. I felt proud to be up there walking where the boots of the Mass Trespassers had walked all those years ago. My praises were sung all day - dry feet & not one blister!

Our next adventure was the big one - a 270 mile walk up the backbone of England. I remember the excitement of the first day setting off from Edale - the atmosphere was electric. At the end of the day I was put with all the other boots in the corner & listened to the laughter around the table.

I wonder how many miles Sal & I have walked together? We've probably walked from Land's End to John O'Groats several times over by now. We've been up mountains, by the side of rivers and through forests. We have strolled together in every sort of weather England can throw at us and in every mood and emotion. We've walked on our own and in good company and quite often I seem to end up under the table in a nice pub somewhere listening to chatter and laughter. Sal seems to laugh a lot when she's got me on her feet.

I'm getting old now, my leather is cracked & worn and my treads are gradually getting smoother from the paths I've pounded. I know the time will arrive one day when I won't be able to walk with Sal anymore. It makes me sad to think that but hopefully it won't be for a while yet. In the meantime I will enjoy every walk as though it's my first and my last.

Something daft I wrote for a blog a few years ago about my lovely boots... hehe. I'm not sure many people wonder what their footwear would say if it could talk but any proper walkers will understand how attached you can become to a faithful pair of boots. I've had them 10 years and they're packed and ready to go on holiday with me again tomorrow. 

I might blip while I'm away, then again I may not. I'm not really a holiday social networking-type person - I like a break from the internet and technology too. We shall see. 

One sleep. Squeeeeee!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.