gail_heaton

By gail_heaton

Queen Mary 2

The plan for today was go and my hair done (that's probably too much information) then onto Mayflower Park in Southampton where I was sure I would get a good view of the Red Arrows display to mark Cunard's 175th anniversary. I was there in plenty of time for the display which was going to start at 15:05. I'm in prime position parked right on the waterfront. Ate my lunch then thought I'd better take one or two of the Queen Mary 2 as "insurance" just in case I couldn't get anything good of the Red Arrows. 

closer to the appointed hour I put the long lens on the camera, checked the light (getting more overcast by the minute) and the camera settings. All OK. Went and sat back in the car for 10 minutes or so then got out about 5 to 3. 

5 past 3 came and went, as did quarter past and eventually at about 20 past someone looked it up on the internet. The Red Arrows were still in Bournemouth due to low cloud. Their "window" was until 15:35.

At 15:35 as they hadn't appeared and there was no sign of them everybody gave up and tried to make their way home. It took a good 15 minutes to get out of the car park due to the crowds. 

So a somewhat disappointing afternoon. But anyway the Queen Mary was most impressive.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.