Flower Friday - Wattle

Flower Friday - dedicated to my Blip friend Anni. 

Today has been a bad day for the South Australian and Australian Rules football fraternity, with the murder overnight of popular Adelaide Crows coach Phil Walsh.  His son has been arrested for the murder.  We are all appalled, and a chill runs down my spine whenever I think about it.

OK - Wattle.  There are about 960 species of wattle endemic to Australia, and the golden wattle (not this one) is the Australian floral emblem.  The green and gold, recognisable all over the world.  Our local area, the Mt. Lofty Ranges, has about 35 species.

I believe this is the coast wattle or Acacia longifolia var.sophorae, but it might not be.  Like many Australian plants it's really easy to get the various species muddled up.

Anyway, for me Wattle is a sign of cheer and of hope, and I guess that's something we all need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.