Eye to Events

By i2events

Daddy, along the lines of long legs.

Not quite sure what this is? Bit to early in the year for Daddy Long Legs [Tipula paludosa]. Could be a small crane fly [Tipula maxima].
Did start out to photograph the bees feeding on the hebe bush in the garden, but I just liked these colours.
Don't think I have seen so many bees in one place for a long time. They were all over this plant. Lucky enough I am not phased by bees. I was fortunate to have a biology teacher whose father kept bees and would visit his hives quite often.Mind you we would only go when it was cool as we were not supplied with any protective clothing. Don't know what Health & Safety would make about that now.
Tried to identify the insect by looking in my Collins, Complete British Wildlife. Nothing very conclusive I'm afraid. I did in the course of looking for this book find my old copy of Don McCullin's autobiography, "Unreasonable Behaviour". A great read for anyone who might believe a camera is just a piece of jewelry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.