Sydney

By Sydney

Sunrise

Am getting settled in my new shell. The edges are smoothing and  I am finding homes for my treasures. The 4 kind young men that moved me in decided that I buy my furniture by weight rather than usefulness or comfort and accused me of having a bench of concrete masquerading as wood. I took umbrage at that, however I did distract them so I could check under the lid for rocks which I have a penchant for collecting.

My pine armoires cleared the ceiling by 2 inches and they deftly waltzed them into place with nary a scuff. And they kept laughing, they were quite jolly in fact and said that they had been dreading it but couldn't remember the last time they laughed so much. Probably at me, not so much with me, but no matter my furniture is in situ and they are not so all's well!

Yesterday 3 river otters swam below me-I was on the deck above not cavorting with them in the inlet. They looked for all the world like giant leeches and I was horrified until I reasoned that leeches don't really swim-do they? How do leeches propel themselves? Anyway, these were otters and later they came out splashing over the mudflat at low tide with a sound that seemed both paddley and giggly and made me laugh out loud. They were wonderful humpy shaped little guys and they rolled and bounced from small channel to muddy rise and back to channel as they made their way bay ward. This morning I made myself 3 espressos and by the time I took a break on the deck in the breeze for otter watch I was so wired I nary missed the flip of a butterfly wing, but no otters. Possibly my nonstop inane chatter kept them at sea, it certainly had a soporific effect on my cousin who began snoring soon after I joined her out in the coolness. Given half a chance I dare say I could bore anyone into slumber-maybe there's money in this skill? I could rent myself out!

I have posted a photo of last night's sunset from my bedroom. Not at all spectacular but I like the reflection in the water.

Back to work, there is havoc to be wrought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.