GeorgeCrawford

By GeorgeCrawford

Portencross Common Blue

So a friend contacted me yesterday to tell me someone had seen a lot of blue butterflies near Hunterston yesterday. (Do other people get Facebook messages like that, by the way?) I went looking for them today and found half a dozen on the stretch between Portencross Castle and the power station, but I couldn't get them to sit still and smile for more than a fraction of a second at a time. This is the best I could manage. It's a Common Blue (Polyommatus icarus), although it's not so common around here. Isn't it not just a spectacularly gorgeous wee animal? The colour of a lovely summer day like today. I found a couple more on the cycle path near the Largs Yacht Haven, but their pictures aren't any better.
Photos © George Crawford.
http://CroftGlenImages.blogspot.co.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.