Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

I did something amazing.

I did something amazing for havens hospice.

That's what my medal and t-shirt say...and all I had to do is go for a jog!

13.1 miles along southend sea front on the hottest morning in recent memory- cue some quite spectacular tan lines!

I had 4 aims for today:

1: Beat my ex-housemates time from last year (1:53:0).
Because he hasn't let me forget he beat me.
2: Beat my time from the Great North Run (1:50:51).
Because I'm a bit competitive.
3. Beat the guy from the gym my girlfriend really doesn't like.
Because he's a bit of a dufus.
4. Beat the guy wearing the same t-shirt as me.
Because.... Well, just because.

As it turns out, despite my usual long distance super stitch from hell, I hobbled over the line in a quite spritely 1:43:something....

4/4: not bad for a days work!

Now where's the aftersun......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.