Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Blueberries from the garden.  A quiet indoor shot today, it's just too hot to be doing or thinking outside.  I even had a nap this afternoon, I rarely have naps.

As I was walking to an appointment this morning I came to the intersection at the end of my block, a couple converged from the right on the corner when something caught the man's eye and he looked down to see a tiny hummingbird on the sidewalk.  The three of us crouched down to see if it was still alive, it was but its eyes were closing.  The woman said could we move it to the side but we decided it wasn't safe, I said I had an appointment but if they had time they could take the bird to my garden, give it some water from the birdbath which they both happily agreed to - I am normally the rescuer of creatures so I was thrilled they were willing to step in.  I showed them into the garden and said I was sorry I had to go and left them to tend to the bird.

When I got home a few hours later I was concerned I'd find a tiny iridescent body somewhere but there was nothing so I think they were successful!  This terrible heat it getting to all of us.  I have been making sure the birdbath is full to the brim every day, many animal and insect visitors to it day and night.


95ºF/35ºF

Got Naboo a Thunder Shirt today in the vain hope that it'll help him cope with the July 4th fireworks tomorrow.  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.