Old Jetty Sees the Light Again

The stormy weather we had during June caused an old box outlet from Saltwater Creek to be uncovered.  The rough seas moved the shingle exposing the wood and concrete plate.  Usually, all that can be seen is the far end (shown on the left) - four vertical images stitched together.

Doug can remember this as a child, but I have no memory of it as I didn't live in Timaru and have only walked this area in the last 20 years or so.

And further to that, our biking/walking track has gone for ever (see extra).....I'm gutted as we loved biking along the beach track.  This morning we walked around the wetlands, then went to see what remained - nothing sadly !!!  The power of nature.  I've done many many blips along the track over the five and half years but no more, boohoo!

Big game of rugby tonight - final of the Super 15, two NZ teams, Highlanders (South Island) and Hurricanes (North Island).  I really don't mind who wins, but if pushed I'd have to go with the Highlander as me and them are from the South Island.

Rainie

Later.....highlanders won, awesome result!! Happy happy :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.