Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fireworks!

It is traditional here to set off fireworks to celebrate Independence Day - the bigger, the better.  Hubs and I don't do that, of course - too much noise not to mention the risk of blowing' one's hand off!  Watching the Macy's fireworks on the telly is more our style.

So when P-Hummie zoomed up to the little firecracker flower pot on our deck this morning, I thought it would make an appropriate July 4th blip. Our version of fireworks!   I was hunkered under our canopy on the deck, trying to stay dry on a very wet morning.   Because it was so dark and gloomy, I had to shoot this with high ISO and a relatively slow shutter speed so the image is grainier than I'd like ...but I like the composition and I couldn't go another day without blipping a hummer!  

I posted two other hummer shots on Flickr, Click HERE to check them out.  First is a shot of two hummers having an aerial war, and the second is P-Hummie in the firecracker pot  

It's going to rain most of the day, so I am going to catch up on some paperwork while Hubs is working on the race car.  We'll grill something tonight and keep things low key.  Maybe stream some more episodes of The Following, which we'v just started watching - it's an edge-of-the-seat program but we've enjoyed the first few episodes quite a lot.

The catbirds that nested in the shrub outside our garage have a second nest going - Hubs found out when I tried to trim the hedge yesterday and got soundly scolded by both parents.  Oops.  I'm pretty sure another pair has a nest in the shrub outside our office window, too.  They are delightful birds - lovely to watch and great insectivores.  

And speaking of insectivores...it seems like the swallows and wrens are STILL brooding.  Unfortunately, I don't know exactly when either finished laying, so it's hard to know when the eggs will start hatching - but I have to think it will be very soon.  And when those swallows start feeding babies, it will not be good to be a dragonfly in our yard!

Speaking of dragons, thank you very much for sending Ol' Blue Eyes yesterday to the front page of Pops.  We're both smiling...

Happy Independence Day, USA!

Deb

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.