That Sinking Feeling

The usual Friday morning - chores! Where does all that fluff come from? Surely it can't all come from my belly button?
As soon as I'd finished and was gathering my bits and pieces for an afternoon of serious loafing, it came to me (fool that I am) that my boat insurance had expired a few days earlier. Bugger! I located the reminder letter and as I was about to phone their renewal hotline, I saw that I'd just missed a call from TL. What was he calling for? I called him back.
Jim, he says, your boat is looking really low in the water - looks like it's sinking. Joe is going to get the workboat over there.
F.U.C.K! Honestly, I respected the speed limits as I shot down to Granton. Squeal of brakes. Banging of doors.
Relief! Huge relief! That's not my boat! Sadly, for the other geezer, it's the other geezer's boat. The new geezer. The man who doesn't like mobile phones as I subsequently found. I played my heroic part and assisted in getting the workboat over. Here we are, zooming in. And then, given that it was a fine day, got back to the loafing.
And yes, my boat it now fully insured. And still afloat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.