Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Brother and sister...

...different dad though.

I saw this pair on the way to Westfield this morning. If you are ever caught short on the Harrow road, you have no need to worry.

Westfield was every bit as disturbing as I imagined. Having been funneled in by events marshalls (presumably guiding us away from the bits that were still building site), I was soon wandering around like a zombie in a George Romero movie.

A nice young man in a yellow vest holding a walkie talkie asked if I was alright. I said "Oh, you'll have to get used to seeing people wandering around with vacant expression on there faces. No one's buying anything."

It was true. No carrier bags to be seen and thousands of people filling the vast atrium.

With the promise of posh shops, I found a high tech store guide with a touch pad screen. I touched the P for Prada... nothing turned up... L for Louis Vuitton... still nothing.

Then, by accident, I discovered there was two tier shopping here and the posh shops were tucked away in an area called The Village (John Wyndham springs to mind here).
The Village has it's own touch pad store guide (like a lot of things here, not working).

Finally I actually bought something. Mont Blanc outlets being as rare as hens teeth I popped in to buy a bulk load of blue/black fountain pen cartridges (I was the only one in there). It amused me that the shop assistant couldn't work out how to get the till to accept multiple purchases.

I thought to myself, 'don't worry about it love, it's not something you're going to have to do very often'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.