Scented Sundew

This lovely little sundew is just coming into its own.  Drosera whittakeri, or the Scented Sundew, is native to South Australia, and there are literally thousands of them coming up right now.  Many are just coming into flower, although this one obviously is not.  The flowers are small, white, with five petals.

Whether they really are scented or not I wouldn't know - my sense of smell has declined with age, I'm afraid.  However, when they are fully out, I promise I'll shove my nose into one and see what I can smell.

It's a beautiful day today, and the sunshine glinting off the sticky spheres of dew was just lovely. 

Just think, I wouldn't even have known about this little meadow if I hadn't gone weeding Friday morning as part of my volunteer work in the Belair NP.

It does look better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.