Postcard from the Avon Loop

The blip I did on the 3rd I told you about the Eden NZ modelled on the Eden Project UK in Cornwall “but with a unique Kiwi flavour” is being touted for the Avon Loop red zone between Barbardoes Street and Fitzgerald Avenue. Last night there was a talk about it CTV and this is the video of it wich is worth watching. 

This afternoon I took a walk around the Avon Loop as I hadn't walked around there since four months after the earthquakes in 2011 when all the houses were still standing. Here are the shots I took on that day and you can see all the damaged houses still standing. As you see now they have all gone and the ground has been grassed over. The streets are still damaged and you can see the power poles on a lean.The extra shots of from the Avon Loop as well.

This afternoon there was a really sharp jolt and it bought back memories of February 22, 2011 earthquake as I was sitting in the same spot. It was only a 3.2 but was centred not for from our house, so that is why it was so strong. Luckily there has been no more today.

I still have a headache from yesterday I think I got a chill as my neck is really sore as well. The heat from the wheat bag helped last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.