Daily Wild

By emyjane

Louie Returns!!!

Yes!!!!  He's back!!!!  A few times I've called him in the past weeks and have had no reply sadly... I refused to get too worried, as he had lost his tail and he was in the process of a heavy moult.

I was wondering why he had only had one brood this year, robins usually have two, but Louie didn't it seemed.  Then I met my neighbour tonight who told me of the family of robins who nested in his garden (that's Louie) and how the whole nest was predated very early on... So THAT is why, Louie had already had a nest previous which had sadly failed - but usually that's typical - Louie was from a second brood, as was his dad - Larry - before him, so that's why all three of Louie's brood had survived!  One is still around and that's 'Oswald' or 'Ozzie' and he looks so much like his granddad...!

Anyhow, Louie popped out of the hedge and in the hedge, then out the hedge and in the hedge, he and I were so happy to see the other and here he is... he has a new tail too!  Not fully grown, but nothing to be embarrassed about now!  He's still moulting, his red breast feathers are still coming, but to me he looks perfect and he had some worms and then flew back into the hedge... Least I know he's there now! :) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.