Secret Gardens

Torrential rain last night but today has been gorgeous. We headed off to Baltimore. First job to hand over a batch of cards to the ferry heading over to Cape Clear Island- please deliver to N, I requested, certainly said the crew member. How civilised!  Then we rendezvoused with Bat TJ and CarolineL at Glebe Gardens for a coffee and scone and first mooch round one of the eight gardens open for Baltimore Secret Garden Weekend . Glebe Gardens are delightful but not as as wonderful as those at Ballylynch, managed by Caroline herself. 20 acres of many secret gardens: woodland, wildflower meadows, cascades, polytunnels, posh greenhouses and the most incredible views in every direction. Here's Bat's wwoofer wandering through a bramble arch - I think I need one of these.
Inspired or desperate and green with envy, we all stopped off at a Garden Centre on the way home. Himself and I then had large ice creams and I met an ex-pupil who has now decided to become a lawyer. Astonishing. I finished the day by mowing the grass (awful forecast tomorow) and then managed a swim (cool but lovely). By the time I came home Himself had rustled up supper: feta/courgette and pea fritters.  A rather nice day.

GEO2B is doing a sunday shadow challenge. This might fit the bill.

A few more here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.