Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

This world is an angry, hateful place.

Yesterday was really depressing for a lot of reasons.

Today is despairing and depressing as well.

There is just so much hatred in the world, and currently, much more visibly active hatred in this country, that it's really getting me down right now.

So we ran out of dry food for the cats yesterday morning. Other than B making an early quick run to the nearest grocery store, we stayed in. Which meant all three boys had canned food yesterday and this morning.

We had a Petco open up really close to us, so B ran to get cat food from there because I'm feeling sick and he didn't feel up to a half hour drive to the nearest Petsmart.

They didn't have the dry food we feed our boys, so B called me to go over the selection they had of Wellness, one of the brands we get wet food of for Nova.

The one that sounded like the cats would like best had barley in it, so I asked about their grain free options.

I hate that I feel like I'm being really picky and snobbish when discussing cat food ingredients, but many cats are intolerant of barley and quite a few are outright allergic. That's one of the things I really try to avoid feeding our cat, especially Nova.

Large amounts of barley causes Nova to have asthma attacks and also really upsets his stomach.

I'm so very grateful that B understands my reasons for avoiding certain ingredients in cat food and that he cares about it as well. I've had Petsmart employees give me weird looks when looking for barley-free foods.

So yeah, the biggest relief of my day is B understanding that being careful of what we feed the cats isn't me being some crazy health nut. Nova's overall health improved a lot and the other two became more energetic and their fur got softer after we cut barley out of their regular diets. (A small amount in a couple treats doesn't seem to bother them.)

Oh, and B's smoking a brisket.

It smells amazing. Looking forward to eating it.

Hope you all are doing well. Take care. Love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.