A relaxing hobby?

Whoever says knitting is a relaxing hobby hasn't had to wind wool. My beautiful, beautiful wool purchase from yesterday had me swearing like a trouper last night.

With winder all set up I thought I would have a calm evening winding the skein into a ball. How wrong I was. Within minutes of winding I had several ugly knots and two piles of tangled yarn. However not all of it was tangled, so I still had hope.

Move forward a couple of hours I'm still sitting and untangling, still hopeful.

Move forward a couple of hours and I'm still sitting and untangling, language is more colourful at this stage.

Move forward another hour (read 1am in the morning) wool is thrown down and I stomp off to bed.

Fast forward to today and I pick up the wool again, after a morning avoiding it (even going so far as to do some housework and gardening). I also picked up a pair of scissors and cut out the huge knotty pile. But I didn't throw it out but diligently untangled it, wound it into a ball, tied the remaining wool to it and finally wound the whole skein into one glorious ball. Phew.

Feeling I had at last worked out how to make this work I rapidly (well quite slowly actually) wound another two skeins, only managed with the fantastic help of my OH (you definitely need two pairs of hands).

Feeling more relaxed now, but winding has eaten into valuable knitting time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.