Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

White campion

After the excitement of the weekend it was all 'getting things done' today.  I am hugely happy to report that I now have a new (working) shower, taps that don't drip and no elephant bellowing in the pipework (something to do with a valve??).  And things about the house are a lot straighter.

So my blip was taken this evening in the fields round the corner.  The flower is white campion and for fun I looked up some of its country names in Geoffrey Grigson's The Englishman's Flora.  He says - amongst many others - it was known as White Riding Hood in Devon (where I come from though I haven't heard that one), White Robin in Dorset, Summer Saucers in Somerset, Granny's Nightcap in Bucks and Thunderbolt in Rutland.  It is thought to have come here with Neolithic farmers..

That's probably more than you wanted to know, so I'll stop there.  Have a good evening and pray for rain - for Hampshire, at least..

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.