The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Family Reunion

The big day arrived. 34 people across four generations: my 2 grandparents, their 6 children, 14 grandchildren, 3 great-grandchildren and 9 partners. 12 live in New Zealand so this is the first time we've all been together since the younger ones have been born.

We'd rented the village barn in Ditchling, surrounded by a lovely park area and the weather couldn't have been more perfect. The reactions from all the relatives as they saw me were fantastic; no one had any idea. My grandparents were especially happy to see me.

We had a big feast and then played outdoor games, drank lots and all chatted in groups. Later on at least 14 of us played a game of football (using a cheap plastic football) for an hour or two until we were all completely exhausted. Other than hiking and a few other activities, it's the first strenuous exercise I've done since I left! It was so much fun though and the whole day was really special.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.