Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Prickly Pear

I made a visit to the cactus garden at the hospital. I love its beautiful collection of cactii. More recently, an aging woman came over to talk with me there and identified the location is where babies who were still born are buried. The original hospital was built immediately behind where the garden is beside the now public pavement and a fence dividing it from passers-by. Dotted among the plants is a display of granite stones including a sizeable block.

You might be interested to read a small history of the potential in Australia's history of prickly pear and view a photo of a forest of prickly pear here.

I am holding a selection of the matured and aged discards off the stand in front of me. Yes, I ended with tiny prickles in my fingers so best not tried at home. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.