Homeward bound

Foul weather today. Raining when I woke so I opted out of a run. Bad call, as the weather worsened. At one point this afternoon there was a brief thunderstorm; literally directly above the North Shore Hospital where I was working. I saw the flaw of lightning, and less than a second later the windows were shaken by the thunderclap. The rain in the next few minutes made me almost happy that the staff had booked appointments in such a way that I couldn't get away to have lunch. Fortunately for my caffeine levels, I was able to get to the SMO lounge and fill my Keep Cup enough times during the breaks in the rain.

Came home, and stopped off in Grey Lynn village to get the mail from the PO Box, which these days is part of one of the pharmacies. Interesting change in society. Once there was a large post office in Grey Lynn and just one pharmacy. There are now three pharmacies and no actual post office.

As the traffic streamed homeward along Williamson Avenue, heading away for the Sky Tower in the central city, it looks as if the whole of the street is one long line of cars. 

Tomorrow I'm booked to go to Wellington again. The weather here will allow me to leave. The two questions are; will Wellington weather allow me to land tomorrow morning? and if it does, will it allow me to leave on Thursday evening? The forecast for Wellington in the next couple of days is for snow down to 300 m in the hills northeast of the city. Also strong winds from the south. Certainly weather for the heavy coat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.