What The Blip!

By JebusBlips

Captain Kidd Lookout

Met my running compadres Sam & _JoannaBanana_ at the latters home in Wapping this morning; the choice was a 6 or 8 mile circuit which would be decided en route.

With our GPS watches tracking us and armed with water and electrolyte drinks to help stay hydrated we set off.

Through Wapping High St to St Katherine's Dock and then up and over Tower Bridge to the Southbank.

We passed under London Bridge via Tooley Street, and then on to Southwark and Millennium Bridges. At Blackfriars which is at the 3 mile point it was decided to carry on to Westminster and the 4 mile marker before returning via the Northbank.

Unfortunately after we crossed Westminster I got separated from Sam & Jo because I made a slight navigational faux pas and we lost sight of each other in the crowds.

Unsure as to whether they were behind or ahead of me but figuring (incorrectly as it turned out) that they would just carry on, I proceeded on the return journey to our intended watering hole back in Wapping.

The return section was a little more tricky due to diversions along The Thames Path which sent me slightly off course but I eventually made it to The Captain Kidd...exactly 8 miles completed. Upon checking my phone (which I carry strapped to my arm) I realised I had missed several calls from Jo. As I was leaving her a voicemail I saw them approaching in the distance and hung up. They had been concerned that something happened to me and had waited around at the point we lost each other and even doubled back a bit to search for me. Feeling suitably guilty I apologised and then we went inside to order our refreshments/rewards. I am having a dry month leading up to The Dublin Half at start of August so had a lovely tonic water whilst we chatted and took in the view.

Later on I was due to meet my friend and accountant, Julian, so he could countersign my passport renewal application, but that was not till 5. Therefore I headed off to Liverpool St and a restaurant called The Breakfast Club where I had the most amazing Supergreens Salad and an indulgent shake named after the King, the one from Gracelands! A video slide of my late lunch here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.