Bald Eagle

My brother-in-law & my nephews left this morning as they all have to go back to work, but they didn't mind too much as it was pouring rain, & was slated to continue all day long.  My sister & I headed into Eagle River & spent the day looking through the shops & having dinner. On the way back to the cottage we were driving along when a head suddenly popped up from the ditch on the side the road. It took me a minute to realize it was an Eagle! I hit the breaks, causing my sister to unleash a few choice words, but I was too busy making a U turn to listen. I'm telling her to grab my camera, which she did, & we slowly started creeping back along the way we'd come, watching for him. And then we saw him up in the distance as his head came back up, & I pulled up a little closer--he was feasting on some little animal--but as I rolled the window down he took off!  But he only flew a little way up into the tree. I took a picture, then slowly backed the car up--took another couple of pictures, then backed the car up--trying to get as close as I could to him....all the while listening to my sister loudly saying "YOU CAN'T BACK UP, THERE ARE CARS COMING!"  Which I knew, but I was off on the side, I wasn't backing up until the cars would go past, & she obviously didn't understand the thrill of capturing an Eagle with my camera!!  The picture looks a little "misty", but it's because it's pouring rain! Isn't he a beauty?? 
And it was well worth the lecture on "the whole inside of your car is sopping wet!"  What's a sopping inside of a car next to a picture of a magnificent Eagle!! He flew off right after I took this one, & though it doesn't look like it here, while he's perched, his wing span had to be close to 5 feet across!! Magnificent! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.