The party's not over until the old man dances

I didn't really want to have to go to the family party but Sophia insisted that I had to meet her Grandfather. So we drove all the way up the hill to the villa which was packed with Sophia's relatives - all of whom wanted to check out the Englishman with the presumption to fall in love with their darling Sophia. We ate strong-tasting sausage with the local, hard bread and drank wine from her Uncle's vineyard. I was presented to her grandfather - an impossibly ancient man who smiled broadly at me, patted me on the shoulder and nodded.

"Can we go now?" I whispered, when I was able to talk to Sophia on my own. I had to concentrate to understand the heavily accented Italian and the effort was making me tired.
"Not yet!" She smiled at me. "The party's not over yet."

I drank some more wine and let the babble wash over me. Drowning in a warm sea of sound.

After a while, I noticed a change in the quality of the hubbub. Sophia's father was playing a guitar - a jaunty, dragging tune that limped around the terrace, kissing each person on each cheek. The gathered relatives clapped along, softly, and I saw that Sophia's grandfather was dancing.

The old man danced through the hot evening while his family clapped him and it was beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.