Caught in the act

Back on the railway again today. The normally quiet Wittersham Road station was abuzz with people today - volunteers from the Tuesday Group were busy gardening and tidying up the station and painting the outside of the signalbox.

I also had a visit from the Signalling Inspector who spent a couple of hours in the box observing what I was doing and discussing next steps. He's happy that I can now take on trainees in the box which will add a new dimension to working a turn there. We also discussed if I'd like to learn another box, so we're arranging a turn in Tenterden Town and Northiam boxes to see which I'd prefer.

In the afternoon my old school friend John came along for a couple of hours in the box. Being a historian he's interested in anything like this. It was John who managed to take this shot of me in the act of exchanging the single section tokens with the fireman of 30065 as it passes the down DMU which is waiting in the loop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.